Royal Kennel Club - 150 years
Join us in wishing our friends at the Kennel Club a very happy 150th anniversary. Or perhaps that should be Royal Kennel Club as further congratulations are in order after the club received a Royal Prefix to mark this significant milestone.
The Kennel Club was established in 1873 and since its inception has held royal patronage. It began with the purpose of bringing order and regulation to dog shows and field trials which were taking place at the time and, since then, has evolved into a multi-faceted organisation encompassing the UK pedigree and working dog registry, The Kennel Club Charitable Trust, Crufts dog show, the Young Kennel Club, the Good Citizen Dog Training scheme and the members' club itself, which has over 1500 members. Due to our founder Mary's lifelong love of dogs, we have had close connections with the club and in recent years have collaborated with them on two photographic exhibitions, one on Thomas Fall and another on Shirley Baker last year.
The Royal Kennel Club's latest exhibition celebrates their anniversary by bringing together treasures from their own archive: original paintings, historical artefacts, documents, vintage photographs and more will be on display at the club's gallery in Clarges Street, Mayfair, London. Curated as an immersive calendar of the last 150 years of society with nods to significant historic events, the exhibition features poignant images of the bomb damage from 1941 on Clarges Street, and delves into the history of women in The Kennel Club, such as the Duchess of Newcastle, first Chairman of the Ladies Branch in 1901, and Florence Nagle, who gained full membership for women.
Visit their website to find out more.